Boston YIMBY groups

Reznor

Reaction score
I know there's an active group in Cambridge (ABC - A Better Cambridge) as well as YIMBY groups in JP and Somerville. Is anyone actively involved in the local YIMBY community?

As a South End resident, I'd love to get involved (or start?) a local YIMBY group. Any insight from the board is much appreciated.

it's time to start one.

maybe call it dubya dubya dubya UrbanizeBoston

since Joe Larkin has LetBostonRise

Part of the reason Boston doesn't have YIMBY groups at the moment is that the city is spending less time listening to NIMBY groups.

Another change: During the Menino administration, neighborhood civic associations could count on City Hall to quash developments they didn’t like. “That doesn’t happen anymore, either,” Walsh says. This change is particularly surprising because Walsh cut his political teeth as the head of his neighborhood association. He says he’s serious about Boston getting 53,000 new units of housing by 2030. If a plan looks good to his team, has a strong affordability component, and enjoys the support of abutters, he says, it is likely to get the nod even if the neighborhood association opposes it.

from http://www.bostonglobe.com/magazine...tten-myself/1s12EpEXiBCLfYGtytBmRJ/story.html

The city has decided that a lady living in Cleveland Circle should not be able to weigh in on a project in Allston Village. Going ultralocal has traditionally been viewed as being anti-development, hence pushing affordable housing at the state and national levels. But Boston hit on something interesting, the current housing shortages have meant that many people who live next door and across the street from potential developments are in favor of them.

There is a place for some YIMBY groups, but they aren't needed as heavily as in SF.

Gotcha. We'll see what happens in November. Tito has some momentum. If Walsh loses this fall, YIMBYs may become essential in debate.