BU Beach and Storrow Drive

ant8904

Reaction score
Hello. So this is my first post. I thought of this a while ago and decided to share this idea.

I'm a BU student and one thing that bothers me a lot is the lack of greenery. I know BU is an urban campus, but it would be nice if we had a green center. BU beach is our center with green grass and everything but it is just not big enough and right next to the darn highway. However, right over is the the Charles River with is beautiful shoreline. It is so close, yet so far away.

Yet, the reason why BU beach is called a beach is because of the hill just before it covering the highway. In a way, the rushing sounds of cars kinda like like waves on a beach. However, as much it does sound like it, in reality, it is still the sound of cars on a highway. For those who don't know, google provided a picture.

So I have this possible crazy idea. Is it possible someone, probably BU, could just set up platform right over Storrow Drive and cover it up. To me, it doesn't even have to be that long, just a few hundred yards from one end of BU Beach to the other. Probably short enough that no ventilation or any of that required. It shouldn't be much higher than the hill (and since it is a parkway, the clearance can be quite low) the top can be just covered by grass. On many vantage points, it would look just like an earthen flood wall and it would do so much to connect the beauty of the river to the campus.

My thinking it shouldn't be too costly since it only a short distance, low clearance, and so on, but it still cost money. All it does is aesthetics so there isn't that much incentive to do it except for the benefit of BU students and I guess those to walk/jog/bike on that short stretch, but its too short to really be that big of a deal.

Still to me, it sounds pretty inexpensive, quick to build, and makes a pretty good effect for the campus. I know you guys aren't BU students, but I wonder how good or bad the idea is.