Portland's vibrant downtown

TheBostonian

Reaction score
Losing LL Bean seemed like a big blow to downtown Portland, where it otherwise isn't easy to find practical items like the clothing Bean sells. But Portland never ceases to impress me: Reny's is moving into the adjacent spaces vacated by Bean and Olympia Sports.

http://www.onlinesentinel.com/news/...ean-olympia-space-in-portland_2010-12-20.html

Living a couple years in Portland left me with faith that downtowns can be great despite the huge outward gravity of suburbanization.

Did you ever finish up at Muskie in planning? I am finishing up my planning degree there now. I agree about vibrant downtown despite suburbanization. Hopefully it continues here as a trend.

I graduated in May of 2009 and returned to MA where I work as a planner now. Looks like our time there didn't overlap. I seriously miss Portland and the Muskie experience.

I remember when you were thinking about applying and your comments when you first visited Portland, as well as your questions about where to live (in fact, I think there is a thread on here about it). You must have started planning at Muskie when I started law up the street. I did the joint degree, the planning part of which started in fall 2009. almost done now. Where do you work as a planner? Have you specialized or are you a general town planner? How do you like it?

I'd like to hold onto some anonymity in this public forum, since I've expressed very personal opinions here about planning and my job requires some neutrality. But with that said, I've sent you a LinkedIn friend request, so you can see who I am and exactly where I work.

My job is split 50/50 between a very specific specialty and being an open-ended, at-large planner. The community where I work is really a special place, and the department has been investing quite a bit in professional development. So I absolutely love the job.