Biggest transit and infrastructure stories of 2023?

StreetsblogMASS

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

Christian MilNeil here, editor of StreetsblogMASS. I've been a longtime lurker on this site (thanks for all the story ideas) and finally have a good reason to post for the first time.

As the end of 2023 approaches, we typically run a roundup of the year's biggest stories. This year, we'd like to offer readers a chance to weigh in.

What were your favorite infrastructure projects that got built in 2023? What was the biggest transit story? Who built the best new bike lane? And who demonstrated the boldest political leadership?

We just started an open thread on StreetsblogMASS, and I'd like to invite you all to weigh in:

Thanks for posting this and glad you're doing a roundup of regional transit and infrastructure issues. I'm a novice by any measure on this board so I hope the real pros jump in and share their thoughts.

It's too early to tell, but if the acute issues plaguing the T are at least partially resolved, trip frequency increases and ridership comes back, the hiring of Phil Eng will be a marker for transit in 2023.

Probably also worth shouting out the delayed, but soon-to-open N Washington Bridge (Dec 9) and the opening of the Terminal E expansion.

Sadly, the T is still miserable and big key projects like commuter rail electrification remain stalled, but hoping there are some more breakthroughs in 2024.

Thank you for posting this onto the AB forum. Ever since the reddit API changes in July 2023 I am no longer posting onto reddit, due to the changes on the platform there. I would be interested in a mastodon and/or lemmy community for the Boston urbanism/transit discussion space.