Copley Square

tmac9wr

Reaction score
I've been working in the Hancock Tower for about 4 months now, and the entire time there has been big chain-link fences surrounding the grass on Copley Square. The fountains aren't on either. Does anyone know why? Is this something that they do every year for winter?

To go with that, the asphault right in front of Trinity Church is all torn up and looks like crap. Copley Square is supposed to be one of the nicest parts of our city, how is it allowed to look so terrible?

You read my mind. I was wondering the same thing this morning. It's incredibly uninviting at the moment and I haven't seen any information on it here (that I can remember... which means there is likely information on it somewhere on this forum).

They re-sod the grass late summer, last year. I would guess that they will take down the chain-link fence either before the Marathon, or, more likely, after the Marathon.

It will look great!

Given what the weather was like yesterday, it's just as well they didn't turn on the fountain yet. Don't want the pipes to freeze.

I know some people here will scoff/be skeptical..but when I was in town in March, I saw the empty fountain @ copley serve as a nice little playground for skateboarders. It's not exactly of historical significance (how many times have they redone the square?), so I've got no problem with it.

(said with completely fucking straight face, the way it was said to me) The chain link fence is one element of the Mayor's Together we CAN/Cities Are Neighborhoods initiative, meant to draw people out of their homes and into the public spaces.