Urban Planning.. Good field?

LordStanleyCup2011

Reaction score
I am a high school student right now. I would love to get into urban planning. But I am wondering what kind of job market do you think there will be for urban planning in 10-15 years from now. I also have realized that it is tough to find urban planning degrees.

Thanks!

I think it will be bigger than ever in 10-15 years. But, it is almost entirely a boring, rubber-stamp job as I've seen.

I think it's much more interesting -- and perhaps more lucrative -- to go the private route and look for real estate development careers. The only thing is: what do you major in? And then how do you get into these firms (what do you apply for)? I haven't quite figured it out, but I'm getting my resume together with my poli sci and economics double major, and I'd take any grueling, menial job I can in order to work my way up. Some sort of planning or design degree, even architecture, would perhaps be best for getting in. Maybe I'll go to grad school for something else later on.

Keep in mind that what constitutes an "urban planning" degree may actually be something of an open question. Your degree doesn't need to immediately tie back into urban planning or have urban planning written somewhere on it for you to find work in that field.

Unless you absolutely despise math and/or science, I'd suggest you start looking at engineering degrees. There's really no way to go wrong with one.

The only thing is: what do you major in? And then how do you get into these firms (what do you apply for)? I haven't quite figured it out, but I'm getting my resume together with my poli sci and economics double major, and I'd take any grueling, menial job I can in order to work my way up. Some sort of planning or design degree, even architecture, would perhaps be best for getting in. Maybe I'll go to grad school for something else later on.

Architecture, finance, or construction.