85 Essex St.

ratslab

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm an architecture student in Maine and my studio class is designing a high rise for a site in Chinatown - 85 Essex St., between Edinboro St. and Ping On Alley. This site has been a parking lot for as long as anyone can seem to remember, but I'm trying to find out what was on the site previously. I found an aerial photo from the 1940's that has a building footprint on it.
Does anyone have any information?

Much appreciated.

GVjiAwr.jpg

It was the Edinboro Building on the 1938 Bromley Atlas. I found this write up in this BRA document

https://archive.org/stream/onelincolnstreet00king/onelincolnstreet00king_djvu.txt

"85-91 ESSEX, THE EDINBORO BUILDING, GEO. POPE, 1890

The Edinboro Building is a dignified 6xl0-bay brick and sandstone
conroercial structure with a cast-iron storefront and some classical
detailing. Pope designed a number of commercial structures and
residences during the late nineteenth century. From 1901-1910 the
Boston Dry Goods Co., "the leading dress and silk house of New England,"
was on the premises; an old sign for the "Progressive Clothing Co." is
still on the building."

Wow, this is really helpful. Now I just need to find a photo. Thanks so much!

It burned in October 1989. CBS 48 Hours happened to be in Boston at the time, and was on the scene early.

https://youtu.be/Xm3RugCJxlE

1012 36033 9 1432 04 11:52
85 Essex St (91) (1-9 Edinboro St) 6 Sty Brk Part Vac 110 35 2,000,000 Marston D3 Christian Stapleton Mult Occ Comm under Renovation "Edinboro Bldg"

81 Essex St (83) 9 Sty Concr "Pelham Building" 110 93 Mult Occ Comm Bldg 1st Fl Stores

I'm intrigued. Designing a high-rise - this is just for class, right? Is that common, for architecture students, to pick a random space for a project like this?

PS. Building next door is the one proposed for a new tower, right? Anyone remember? Came out just last year. I think a tear down-replacement?

LOVE that there's tape of the fire.