Jobs and Careers

Shepard

Reaction score
I thought I'd start a thread first to seek some advice, but second in case there's other questions that others would want to ask - this would be a good place and I don't think we have something similar on the forum.

--

I've been working in management and strategy consulting for over 6 years and looking to make a change into something in the real estate development field. If I could get into a time machine and go back 10 years I would choose to study architecture instead of the fuddly-duddly humanities/social science degrees I actually pursued (and yet I suspect if I had done so I wouldn't be as financially secure as I am currently)... in any case, I'm not at a place where I can comfortably go back to school for years or take on risk like that.

So, given that I have an eye for architecture and design, and that I'd probably be looking for a salaried position, what kinds of roles/positions are out there that I should be looking for? I'm not dead-set on working for a developer, although that looks to be a logical route - I have no idea, for example, if larger architecture firms have non-architect roles for project management, etc. Of course, I'm also looking to know what I'd be qualified to do given my background.

Thanks for any advice!

I was at Bain Consulting out of undergrad. Ended up going back to school to get my MBA and MPA (Public Administration), which made a career switch much easier. I did a dual degree program between Kellogg (Northwestern) and the Kennedy School so I was exposed to both the business and policy/planning side of things. I'd recommend the program if you can take a couple years off. If not, there are some good accelerated full-time MBA programs that only take a year.