Apartment Hunting In Boston

KentXie

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I'm planning to go apartment hunting soon and it would basically be the first time doing it without the help of Northeastern's off-campus housing database. Essentially what I'm saying is, I'm a total noob at this. If there are any advice that any of you can offer regarding where I should start looking (i.e. which newspapers, online databases, real estates, etc.), that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hi everyone,

So I'm planning to go apartment hunting soon and it would basically be the first time doing it without the help of Northeastern's off-campus housing database. Essentially what I'm saying is, I'm a total noob at this. If there are any advice that any of you can offer regarding where I should start looking (i.e. which newspapers, online databases, real estates, etc.), that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Best of luck! I personally think you should shop for neighborhoods first, and consider ones that are slightly "further out"--even just 1 rail stop or 3 bus stops further-- than whatever you'd first think. People who need to live at the very center (of any neighborhood) always slightly overpay. That was me as a noob: New to Boston, I lived on Beacon Hill. Still pretty noob, (but learning) I was *just* over the line from Boston into Brookline (5 doors?) and a block away from St Mary's (Green Line). Next was anywhere within 15 mins of a Cambridge Red)

Once you have a neighborhood (or three) you'll have a better basis for determining what drives prices and where you might find a good deal because you differ with "the market" in its assessment. With that sense of value it becomes easier to use whatever search seems best.